Very Exciting and Very Scary

millina text3

This past June marked the end of the didactics portion of pharmacy school for me. I thought it would feel like a weight lifted off my shoulders, but I am honestly going to miss going to class every day. Soon after our last class one of my friends, Nadine Shokralla, sent us this text: “We officially have learned everything we need to know to be licensed pharmacists and are no longer able to say I haven’t learned that yet.” And let’s just say that was one of the scariest moments of my life. To know that we are done with three-quarters of pharmacy school and all we have left is one year of rotations is terrifying. Then comes May, which is what everyone of us is looking forward to. My classmates and I will be walking on the lawn in front of chapel to receive our PharmDs and then onto taking our boards and becoming licensed pharmacists. Do you see how that can be both very exciting and very scary?

School has been a very big part of my life, it is going to be very weird for me to not have to go to class or study for a test after graduation. Don’t get me wrong, I am very excited to graduate and be done, but I am going to miss going to school at 7:15 AM every day, sitting with my friend Christie Bolous in the student lounge studying or talking until our class starts at 9:00 AM. I am going to miss running around during lunchtime from one meeting to the other. I am going to miss being president of NCPA. I am going to miss all the amazing administrative staff and all the events that they plan for us. I am going to miss all the outreach events that we did with all the different organizations on campus. I am going to miss school. Pharmacy school is not just about studying and getting good grades like I first thought during my first quarter back in Fall of 2012; there is so much more to learn and do. It was during my time here at Loma Linda University School of Pharmacy that I developed my leadership skills. It was during my time here that I made long lasting friendships that I would not trade for anything else. It was during my time here that I discovered more about myself and about what I would like to do with my future. I am going to miss school and everything else that comes with it.

SOP Honors and Awards 18

The hardest thing about being a third year is that you finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. This is the year that marks the end of lectures, quizzes, midterms and finals. This is the year when it all ends because our fourth year is all about building our clinical experiences. That feeling sets in right about the end of fall quarter and all I was left with is senioritis and that is not good at all! I started putting some work off until the latest I could possibly can which really drives me crazy. I work best under pressure, but I would rather not have to stress out all the time. It took a lot of motivation and a lot of determination to fight senioritis and the battle was still going on until my last final when I could enjoy a day off before I started working a few hours later.

My plans for the summer consisted of work and going to Camp Conrad Chinnock (aka: Diabetes Camp) as a medical volunteer for two weeks. Over at camp I learned how to work in a team that consisted of an EMT, a medical student, and me, to take care of two of the boy’s cabins. Diabetes camp is an amazing experience that I would not trade for anything else. Everyone expects us to say that we made a difference in those campers’ lives, but the truth is that they made a difference in my life. For them to let me provide care and trust that I am giving them the correct insulin dose means that they trusted me, and that is huge. They trusted me, listened to my recommendations, believed in me, and taught me a lot. Getting to know them and their problems, not just the medical aspect but also the social, makes me understand a lot. It cleared things up and made me feel that I am not alone and I am not the only going through problems. Going through everything with them makes me realize that others have it much worse, and all of a sudden none of that matters because these campers are changing me from the inside out.

DSC00308

Leave a Comment